The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising"

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company if based on faulty reasoning and unwarranted assumptions. The advertising directing direction has not done a thorough study before writing the memo.

The advertising director states that fewer people attended the Super Screen produced movies that year than in any other year. He base this statement according to the recent report from the marketing department but this report doesnot compare the attendance of viewers from other production. There might have been downfall in the attendance with all of the movie companies due some kind of economic crisis or other problems that may have diverted the viewers from seeking into the entertatinment industry overall. Therefore, before making such a bold statement the director must study the overall data and understand the current situation.

According to the director, the contents of the reviews received are not reaching the prospective viewers. But the director completely misanalyzed this data. The increase in positive review must be because the movie reached to its prospective viewers who understood the movie because of their intrest towards it. Had the movie reached towards the audience which it was not intended for, the reviews would have been actually lower that it is currently. So the statement made by the advertising director must be based on unwarranted assumption and misintrepretation of available data.

Allocation of greater share of its budget next year rather than focusing on the quality is a bold statement made by the director of advertising. Even if the public are aware of the movie it will not be a sucess if the quality is compromised. Nobody would want o spend their time and money in which they cannot have a quality entertainment. Moreover, if a movie is of good quality and rises the interest of the audience, then the movie will automatically be advertised by the audience themselves through the power of advertising through mouthing and recommendation. Also, there may be a hidden benefit for the advertising director to make such a bold statement as the allocation of greater share of the budget to advertsing would mean that his department would recieve significant money which he will be the sole controlled of. Hence, along with baseless reasoning we can see a hint of greed that made the director to make such a strong statement.

The above arguments prove that the claims made by the advertising director is completely baseless and assumption are unwarranted which are made based on faulty reasonings. Proper study and research of the data and current situation seems to be wanting and the advertising director must work on it before making claims and statements.