The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

The preparation of a society's youths for leadership is, indeed, a necessity as this promotes continuity in the different spheres of life, as they saying goes that "the youths are the tomorrow". The prompt asserts that the best way for a society to prepare its young for leadership, in any sense, is by imbibing and promoting a sense of cooperation in them rather than a competitive spirit. I mostly agree with In my opinion, I think the prompt is overstated, thus , I mostly agree that a cooperative spirit be printed instilled in the youth, but not at the detriment of competition for two reasons.

To begin, it is pertinent that a leader should possess diverse qualities which promotes coeperation. Honesty, a listening ear, tactfulness, and boldness are apt to achieve a common goal.

If these qualities and skills are fostered in young individuals, as there these you dividuals, it would enhance their ability  and prepare them for the future. Take for instance, in a primary school setting, if pupils engage in extracurricular activities such as debates (for boldness and critical thinking). In the home, a mother would ensure that her eldest son helps his younger siblings in their homeworks and keep the house in order when she is not around. If she comes home, she lauds him for things welldone and corrects his wrong doings. Over the years, a pupil who have passed through the above instances will be able to engage effectively in teamwork and this cooperation would make him stand out as a leader.

Furthermore, the ability of an individual to work with others directly affects the outcome expected and promotes the society if the expectations are realised. For instance, in a hospital setting, if a woman who is about to put to bed is admitted, the nurses, work hand-in-glove with the doctors to ensure the safe arrival the baby and ensure the health of the mother. If, for any reason, there are clashes or rants or any form of discord, this could lead to negligence of the pregnant woman and possibly death.

Au contraire, a leader whose thoughts are full of competition may not realise the true purpose for which he has was chosen. However, a "healthy" competition could promote the critical thinking skills required of a Leader. Finally, the young of the society should be imbibed with the recessary qualities which would make them co-operative in future, promoting team work which would lead to the achievement of a common set goal.