The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

In order to reach goals, leaders needs to work with others; therefore, cooperative relationship will foster effectiveness more than competition.

It is a long-established fact that competition forces people to leave their comfort zone, work harder, and exceed their former limits; however, comparison of an individual with others will bring a sense of individualism, which is detrimental to team work, cooperation, and harmony inside an organization.

First of all, everyone confesses that lofty goals cannot become reality with the contribution of only one individual. Leaders help their employees to set the goals, priorities, create a positive work environment in which group work gives the most efficient and effective result.

Moreover, competition may be detrimental to preserve internal organizational relationships, harmony and camaraderie; therefore, leader's encouragement towards competitive mindset will tear the team apart. As a result, a leader will merely supervise certain number of self-oriented individual employees instead of a whole group. Azerbaijani proverb also illustrates this case with a laconic demonstration. It is easy to tear apart 7 tree branches one by one; however, it is impossible to break only one bunch of 7 tree branches. Simply, competition will create such seven individual braches making them vulnerable to external dangers.

Finally, competition makes people compare themselves with others. Such mindset not only create "me vs them" perspective, but also establishes 'winner gets all' based results. As a result, any failure, even a single one, although there may be tons of success examples before, will demotivate employees, make them lose their motivation and interest in what they are doing, and even leave the job altogether. Lest it happen, leaders should work hard to prevent such destructive work environment.

To conclude, a leader is an indispensable part of the organization. Their role is to give direction, motivation, and encouragement to realize organizatinal goals. Cooperation is the most helpful, effective, and sustainable method that leaders need to adopt; nevertheless, they should also be aware of the effect of competition among their groups because competitive environment may bring sense of self-orientedness, individualist approach towards achievement of the organizational goals