“The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While idealistically, the recommendation that cooperation is more fruitful than competition, realistically, certain aspects of human nature may not allow this statement to hold true consistently. At face value, the word “cooperation” evokes a positive sentiment while “competition” a more vicious one. The truth is, both words’ connotations may shift to be positive or negative depending on the context. Competition serves as beneficial in some cases and for this reason I cannot fully agree with the recommendation that cooperation is the only ingredient for a well-oiled society.

Competition can come in a variety of shades. On one hand it may be cutthroat, derogatory, and even abusive and on the other it may provide a healthy catalyst for improvement. To better understand the differences between the two types of competition, I will utilize a situation in which two individuals are competing in trivia. To paint a portrait of a negative competition, the contestants use sabotage, verbal abuse, and other forms of bullying to “win.” While they may achieve this goal of winning, they leave a trail of harmful behavior that may in fact set back any progress made. For example, the other contestant may be psychologically or physically harmed. Applying this ideological example to a larger context– the society– it becomes obvious that a harshly competitive environment that leaves negative consequences on surroundings would in fact cancel out any supposed “winning.” An example of this is Tonya Harding’s, the Olympic-level figure skater whose extreme competitiveness led to her downfall in that it was driven by ill intentions.

But what about the otherside? Competition is often light-hearted, motivating, and a catalyst for improvement. It is human nature to want to surpass what came before her or him. In this healthy form, competition may in fact drive revolutionary change. Henry Ford’s desire to transform production practices to be better than what previously existed is a perfect example of good competition. Because of his desire to create the BEST system–hence the “winning” system–Henry Ford was able to develop a model that would revolutionize the US factory system. Without this competitive drive to innovate predecessor’s contributions, all the cooperation in the world may be irrelevant. An effective balance between the two principles is what a society should be instilling in its young.

While some may argue cooperation is superior to competition in society, I cannot fully support this sweeping statement. On an individual level, both in the sense of human variability and and industry differences, different aspects of each principle may need to be employed. For example, in the case of the Syrian Revolution, a cooperation rather than competition for power between the different rebel factions may have led to a more beneficial outcome for everyone. As a result of the extreme competition, the kind I described with a less serious example above, the result was a destruction of an entire country, the displacement of individuals, and the deaths of many. In a case like this, tendencies towards cooperation must be shed and instead efficient cooperation must be adopted.

Overall, my personal ideology falls to advocate more for a cooperative society but it would be selfish and inefficient to model an entire society on this. Recognizing that both ideals are necessary to instill in the young would cover more bases, take into account extreme situations, and more effectively utilize context to determine the best one to use in specific situations.