The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic statement contends that the society should instill a sense of cooperation and not competition in its young people so as to prepare them for leadership in government, industry, or other fields.I concede that cooperation is vital for leadership in any field, however one cannot undermine the role of competition. Competition not only brings about the best from any individual but also boosts their enthusiam towards their work.

Youth is the age when maximum values can be inculcated, which will be lucrative later on. But outweighing cooperation in place of competition is untenuous. On one hand both cooperation and competition are two essential wheels of a bicycle; however, if compelled to give importance to one of them, i would go for competition. An outstanding leader who has a sense of competition can only lead to his/her organisation's progress and growth. As the world today is driven by skills that must be at par with the ever-changing advancements, competition can garauntee that individuals keep pace with the moving advancements.

A healthy competition can also prove beneficial to its customers, so that they get the best products and services. And a healthy competition in case of polical parties will lead to the political leaders actually fulfilling their promises, specially in a country like India where politicians are famous for making dubious promises and not fulfilling them after elections.

I acknowledge that some might say that competition would engender harsh feelings in the team-mates and that rather complementing and ameliorating each others work, they might depriciate it. However, if competition is healthy then it can improve and expedite the work. Yes, Competition can also lead to faster completion of work.