The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Competition is a critical aspect to leadership in both the public and private sectors of the economy. Competition is more important to teach than cooperation because competition implies a sense of self-improvement and the personal ownership of work. Alternatively, focusing on cooperation can lead to a lack of individualism and a culture of groupthink.

Instilling competition in young people builds a culture self-improvement and overcoming adversity. It is important to teach young individuals that there will always be people more or less equipped to handle specific scenarios and that being the absolute worst or best at anything is a statistical improbability. However, competition urges individuals to overcome their own adversities and to be as successful as possible in their desired area of interest. Competition is a reality of all areas of the economy; to be a large contributer to society, embracing competition is a must. Even in highly social areas of government, such as being on an emergency rescue team for national disasters, the individuals on a team are more productive if trained to compete with their own past response times. However, in situations like these, it is especially important that competition does not get in the way of an individual's ability to work on a team.

Competition does not imply in inability to work well as a group. In fact, in many examples, it has the opposite effect. The performance of an individual on a team and their ability to work well with others is an important metric for success. Therefore, it can be healthy to be competitive in regards to contributing to a team and working well with individuals of varying personalities and abilities. In the case of a group project, there can be competition amongst groups for who can coral a group of conflicting personalities better than another.

Some people may argue that groups and industries might work more efficiently if everybody is able to cooperate. While it may be the case that less conflict would arise, sometimes conflict can be a positive for society. Conflict and competition amongst firms in an economy is expected. When there is sufficient competition, companies in an industry will fight to provide the best products and prices to consumers. Cooperation in a market like this is in many cases collusion, and a net negative for society. Furthermore, conflicting viewpoints for how to solve a problem can lead to better solutions. Cooperating and working off of the opinion of the person quickest to state their idea can lead to a hive mind and lower production.

While cooperation and competition are both indicators of a healthy team environment, competition is a significantly more important value to instill on youth. Individuals being exposed to productive competition at a young age will be better prepared for traditional work environments later on in their life. Competition is not mutually exclusive with the ability to work well with others, and in many cases can actually contribute to a healthy group project.