The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

If you ask me the, givern a field - may it's government, industry - cooperation is necessary between individuals. A big projects are not one man's job. Such as space projects which NASA, ISRO etc does, are not done by any one man.

As I said team is working behind the prjects, team means more persons, more brains. In the cooperate world, when a company decides to make a product there are number of architects working on the design of product. They architect the product with help of each other, one architech finds the loop whole in other's design. In this way they come up with best possible design.

So on and so forth, in government, making large programs benificial to the country requires thinking of all the residents. They need to think about the diversity of the country. In India, last year 2017, ther was smart Hackathon program. In which, a HRD(Human Resource Department) of India, asked some engineering instituations the solutions for the problems of the country. However, no one knows what problem the country has. So, HRD asked other departments to give them the problem statements. All the departments gave their problems. There were diversity of problems needed to be solved.

However, while the cooperation need to be seeded in young childrens. Only compitions will shape the best individuals. An exam like GRE allows to filter out the best minds to go into the prestigious universities.

So, Cooperation what makes big projects thrive, and only best minds can carry out big projects.