The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

The author concludes the the best way to drive leadership with in an society is to instill ideas of cooperation rather than competiveness. this author reaches this conclusion due to the fact that cooperation is a skill that can be used to generate nascent leaders. however, with a thorough observations of the how cooperation is used to create leaders, how leaders developed through competitive environments may or may not be better leaders, and whether or not cooperation is the best method to create a leader, it is clear that this argument is unsubstantial and as a result invalid.

The first area to observe regarding the topic stems from how cooperation is used to create great leaders. cooperation can be a pivotal tool that is leveraged to create great leaders. With an observation of athletics and leadership in cooperate America, many Fortune 500 CEO's have some form of athletic background. As this athletic background enabled these leaders to build leadership skills through team collaboration and cooperation to reach goals, it is safe to say that the use of cooperation can create great leaders. however, this is not always the case. taking the same example of an athletic environment, a leader could only really benefit from learning the benefits of cooperation if the environment was conduice to cooperation. A team with a weak culture might not be able to cooperate as effectively as others. As a result cooperation may not exist on this team. With poor cooperation, an emerging leader might have to rely on different skills such as learning how to motivate or increase productivity through competition rather than cooperation. As a result, cooperation can most surely be used to create leadership qualities, but it is not necessarily a better method of leadership growth than leveraging competition.

Similarly, competition ability to deal with competitive environments might be a leading indicator of a person's ability to lead. while cooperation is beneficial to working cohesively towards a common goal, some environments require teams to thrive under conditions of competition. A great example of this is sales, within sales organizations, great leaders through time have heavily relied on the competitive factor to help teams march towards goals. In certain circumstances this can hurt a leaders ability to lead his or her team because a lack of cooperation can ensue and goals are unmet. however, due to the objective nature of sales, a team goal driven through competition is often rathe effective. As a result, while cooperation can be helpful at times, there are certain environments that require leaders to know how to drive through competition. therefore, using cooperation as the main driver of leadership development is not always the best idicator of whether or not an indivual is properly being developed into a leader.

Lastly, it isn't clear as to whether or not competition or cooperation are the best methods of developing leaders within the authors listed industries. Looking at government in particular. developing a cooperative leader might be beneficial to a country that is first world or already has a strong hold. An example of this is the us. because the us has a stronghold within the world, there are few countries that are outright trying to take over or consume the us due to its power. As a result, developing a leader driven by cooperation and collaboration would be beneficial in the us because this leader would be well suited to manage the relationships with all countries and lead a nation. On the other hand, emerging countries that are trying to establish dominance are much better suited for competition. An example of this is north korea. As a leading power, north korea's regime is centered around how north korea stands against other nations. The jingoism within this country is focused on holding this nation as the best. A leader with a skill set focused on cooperation rather than competition would not fit into the paradaigms that the country holds and as a result would not be a great leader. therefore, developing cooperation rather than competitive as a gauge for leaderships is specific to certain industries or envrionments.

while it is tempting to assume that cooperation is a necessary indicator of whether or not an individual is being best groomed into leadership, it is clear that this is not always the case. As a result the others claims, while true to some degree, is not entirely whole and there for invalid.