The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Humans are not that physically strong compared to the great beasts of land and sea. Nor are they particularly swift, or agile. Despite these apparent shortcomings, humans have performed great feat after feat as a result of our amamizing ability to cooperate on complex tasks. The Great Pyramids of Egypt and the aqueducts of Rome in the ancient world are a few examples. The International Space Station and antibiotics of the modern world are also just as impressive. While competition and cooperation cannot be comletely separated from each other, the importance of cooperation to the development of leaders in every field cannot be understated.

In my personal studies, I have had the opportunity to learn about the advancements in human history. At one point in time, the world was peppered with isolated human societies who believed that they were the only society on the Earth. However, with the rise of imperialism and technology, different cultures were brought together to cooperate, either by will or by force. This continued for centuries until we have the increasingly globalized society we see today. Due to cooperation, industry and government leaders are able to make great advances that benefit mankind.

One example of the importance of cooperation over competition is the advance of medical technology. I have seen lab groups jointly cooperate on advancing biosensors in California, Texas, and Florida. These different groups were experienced in different aspects of the project, so joining heads meant that more quality improvements can be made faster. If they were all focused on competing, the final product would not be as effective. This is just one reason why young leaders should be instilled with a sense of cooperation.

One other reason that young leaders should be instilled with a sense of cooperation is because life is not a zero sum game. During my schooling, I learned of John Nash's idea of a zero sum game, a situation where in order for one person to "win," someone else has to "lose." This creates a mental picture of people stepping on top of each other to get to the highest point, simultaneously pushing others down. If most things operated in this manner, then young leaders should be instilled with a sense of competition so that they will not be left behind. However, life does not work this way. The world is getting more affluent, evidenced by the fact that the percentage of people living in abject poverty has been declining for decades. The poor are making strides, but the rich are also doing the same. Poorer people are getting better medical care, but this does not necessarily mean that ricer people are losing medical care. Because of the fact that not everything is a zero sum game, leaders should be taught to cooperate so that more people benefit.

In conclusion, competition certainly has its upsides to pushing people to improve, but young leaders should be instilled with a sense of cooperation in this increasingly globalized world for the greater benefit.