The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instill in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are many qualities needed to become a leadership. The prompt suggests that the best way to prepare for leadership in multiple fields is by teaching them to cooperate, not competing. However, one of the definition of a leader is to be the best, which requires competition among each other. But there are still benefits from learning to cooperate. From my perspective, I partially disagree with the prompt.

First of all, competition selects the best candidates for the leader position. Take, for example, in a classroom, an academically strong kid is selected for the class-leader position. This kid is selected because the teacher knows that he or she has the required knowledge to manage the whole class, thus gains respect from other kids. This position is not for everyone, therefore the teacher has already carefully chosen among the best kids in the classroom, which in this case is a form of competition. This concepts applies through out the life, where the leaders must be among the best and have the quality in order to at least deserve the reverence from the people, and to be able to perform. A president of the country cannot be someone who is not able to speak fluently.

Secondly, the leader must maintain the best quality to stay in the competition. Take, for example, a president of the United States has two terms, each term has 4 years. In order to successfully land the second election, the person must proved that he or she has already done the best to contribute to the country, maintained this performance throughout the first 4 years. Afterwards, the current president has to compete with other candidates, proving that he or she can handle the task better than the others, which ultimately strengthen his or her competitiveness. When a person manage to proved to maintain all such qualities and surpass other candidates, it is a concrete evidence that this person is inevitably the true leader.

However, there are fields that requires more sense of cooperation than the competition. In business, it is more beneficial for companies to incorporate to achieve the same goal, which is making profit. For example, Apple and Samsung are two big competitors in the smart phone field, but they sells electronic devices to each other to create different machines. The sense of competition is still in the air, but cooperation generate much more revenues than originally when the two companies fight each other for each customer.

In conclusion, a generalization which he best way to make a leadership is to train them to cooperate or compete is absurd and not true to all situation. Depending on the field and the proven ability, people will know who is the best to choose among the leader.