The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

I would be hesitant to say that instilling a sense of cooperation, not competition is the "only best" way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in many fields. According to me, not only cooperation but also competitive mind is necessary to become a good leader. So, instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition is not the best way to prepare good leaders. Both things look equally important to become a leader.

Firstly, we talk about the necessity of cooperation in becoming a good leader. A leader is the one, who is among us, who represents us, who wishes goodwill of his people. These are the things we expect from the leader. So, to do all these things, a leader is expected to be present within his people, understanding their problems, cooperating with them to make them achieve something they wish, put self-efforts in their problems. This way a leader can win the hearts of people through cooperation. And that is why the cooperating is quite important to become a good leader. For example, in a game of cricket, let's say a youngster has to bowl the important over of the match and expected not to give away runs easily. Obviously, he will be under pressure as whole country's hopes are lying on his shoulder. At that time, the captain(leader of the team) who has a lot of experience to handle such situations will ask him to stay calm, know his inputs and then suggest him the way he should bowl. If the captain talks to a youngster, it will surely unnerve his situation of pressure. So, cooperation is important to become a good leader.

Now, we will talk about the necessity of competition in becoming a good leader. As mentioned in the previous paragraph that a good leader wishes the goodwill of his people, he should win. To win in a situation, a leader is expected to have a competitive attitude. If he lacks such attitude, he will most likely expect a defeat without any efforts. This does not make a good leader. A leader should have hunger to win and for this, competitive nature is also quite important. For instance, taking cricket example again, an Australian cricket is playing against Indian Cricket team and before the match begins, everyone believes that Australian team is strong and so will defeat india easily. So, a good leader should keep faith in team and acquire a competitive stragty in order to win a game. it is unsure he will win or lose, but at least it will be noted that he tried.

So, it is not the best way to have cooperation only and not the competitive nature to become an ideal leader. Both things should go along side by side.