The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

" If you want to run fast, run alone, but if you want to run far, run together" - African Proverb.

Cooperation is an essential value to instill in young leaders, it teaches them to value, know and believe that teamwork is key to most significant efforts that impact a nation, industry or economy. However, a successful leader needs the drive to see through difficulty and challenges. In my opinion, that drive comes from 2 other key elements: healthy competition and a healthy value system.

I think there are two types of competition, healthy competition and unhealthy competition. The claim presented in this essay seems to only consider unhealthy competition, which tends to breed jealousy, bitterness, division and in extreme cases can lead to physical and emotional harm or abuse. However, healthy competition, where an individual competes with themselves or the predetermined goals of the team or company, can drive an individual and a team to manage a better work/life balance this week than last week, or to work more effectively on this month's project than they did on last month's project, or to acquire a higher profit margin this year than last year. The key difference between healthy and unhealthy competition is that healthy competition keeps an individual striving for the "best" but assures that the "best" is self-defined and regulated based on one's capabilities, skill sets, and values. Whereas unhealthy competition the goal is based on being better than someone else and doesn't consider one's own strengths and weaknesses. This then leads into the second key element; a healthy value system. The value system helps young leaders distinguish what type of goals are beneficial for themselves and for society, it is typically the fruit of a good nurturing environment. Through my college experience, I have met some people who are in school, simply because it was the "next step in life", a low-value reason to enroll in school. Some people were there because, "engineering or medicine paid well", true but not the best value reason to enroll in school. While others were there, inspired by the acts of a certain profession, and were taught or shown that they have the capacity to do a similar thing, and therefore, wanted to acquire the necessary skill set to make an impact on earth; that, in my opinion, is the highest value system.

In conclusion, to see young people become leaders in government, industry and other fields we can teach them cooperation, not competition. However, if we want to see young people become effective leaders, in addition to cooperation they should learn healthy competition and acquire a healthy value system. Then, will we see their leadership lead their communities, economies and nations into a brighter future.