The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What is leadership? It is the ability of a person to lead a group of people into achieving a common goal.This definition is restricted to government, industry or any other field. How can qualitlies of leadership be instilled in young people is an important problem to be addressed they are going to be leaders of the future.

While some might say that competition gets the best out of a person and helps them push themselves to better position which is required of a leader, I would like to agree with the author's claim and say that there are more important qualities required of a leader than being better than the rest, which can be instilled in a person only by learning to cooperate with the rest of the people working for the same motive which are as follows.

Firstly,a leader is only called so if he/she has followers with the same motives. When there is no group, there is no group leader. For example, In an industry, a manufacturing line leader is one who manages and encourages the rest of the member in the manufacturing line to work and produce what is required. If there were no workers in the group, a leader would be unnecessary. Cooperation is the key characteristics that is required in a group which is a leader along with the rest for the team to work. Therefore, cooperaion is one of the key characterstics required of a leader.

Furthermore, leader needs to know how to motivate or persuade a group of people to work to acheive common goal,for which, he needs to be able to connect with the rest,adjust and understand the group dynamics.For example, Mahatma Gandhi was a great leader because he had the ability to sway people to take up his path of 'Ahimsa' during freedom struggle and had followers. .This characteristics of understanding the group dynamics and persuading them to work for a cause,can be developed by cooperation.

Contrastingly, one might say that in order to get better a leader needs to compete. But, this characteristics of the leader will also enter the team just as his motives to achieve a common goal and rather disturb the team dynamics and vision would get seperated.