The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Over the past few decades there has been quite significant amount of brainstorming in the form of articles, discussons ,debates, conferences etc to discuss on essential traits an effective leader must have in order to face upcoming challenges of this new world, so from outcomes of such efforts one thing is quite clear that an effective leader is one who takes in to account and respect the views, optionion, ideas of his fellow members.So agree with this prompt that we should instill a sense of cooperation in young people who are our potential future leaders.

There are many evidences in the past that adocate importance of cooperation ,consider case of one of the most influential person who have change the course of american history abraham lincon, if we read for the fact that his cabinet mostly consisited of minister who disagreed him, but he always had a tendency to accomodate opposing view points of his fellow collugues and modify and improve his descisions which helped him to keep his cabinet intact even in the time of unstability in politics of that era.This virtue of cooporation enabled him to achieve respect among his opponents as well of people of america.Similarly we have examples of cooperation in freedom struggles of major powerfull countries of the world like india , france, africa which have shown that how people when team up againts odd can achieve insurmontable tasks.Whereas if you look at examples of leaders like Hitler, stalin then one can understand dangers of competitve spirits that can result great sufferings to people.

If we go back to begining of this century we have an excellent example how an invention which was developed in a garage has become ubiquitos today.

Yes i am making a point regarding Bill gates who invented a windows in his own garage was able to successfully spread his business with help of his colluges how had business , marketing accumen.Thus with cooporation from people from of diffrent skills can pay richer dividents.

In modern day importance of teamwork has become promienent to achieve wide range of challenges that we face.Just as we have fingers which are of diffrent sizes which contribute to varierty of tasks that our hand can perform same is case with individuals which possess diffrent skills, talent when they come together and work in direction to achieve one common goal can create miracles.

Some one may argue that in sports competitive spirit is more important to achieve success to some point it is valid but competition should be a healthy one.For instance if one come to know that he/she lost a race just by diffrence of few seconds than he/she can run some extra miles and push hard to win in time this helps in refinement in his/her performance.But in case of team sports we learn to leverage strengths from our fellow team mates to overcome our weeknesses, so cooporation again plays a vital role.

Thus to sum up sense of competion is inherent in individual but it takes effort to cultivate virtue of cooporation amongst us. There are pleanty of instances which have proved that how cooporation creates a leader who guides people and takes decision in intrest of masses.