"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The civilisation and development of the human society has depended upon our ability to colaborate our efforts to overcome and survive the forces of nature. In my opinion, it is the sense of cooperation and not competition that we must nurture in the youth to make them better leaders in government, industry or other fields for the following reasons.

Firstly, in the formative years of an individual, it is imperative to nurture the young mind of a child in a collaborative environment to ensure that the person grows up to be one who supports his peers when aiming to achieve a common goal. A prolonged study on primates in a controlled environment have confirmed such behaviour. Test subjects were grown and nurtured in two groups with contrasting environments. The first group's members, in their formative years, had to contantly compete with their fellow inmates to win food. The second group, on the other hand, was rewarded with food for tasks demanding cooperation and collective strategy. When individuals were subjected to psychometric tests to judge their capabilities which would correspond to a human's leadership skills, the second group was found to fare substantially better than the first one.

Furthermore, a person constantly subjected to competioin instead of cooperation is likely to develop hostility towards any person from whom he perceives a threat. When such threat comes in a professional environment, such hostility can severly hamper one's ability to lead his group. A survey on around 1000 managerial staff at an anonymous firm studied the educational background of the staff. The study demonstrated that those who went to an education system where collaborative excercises and team work were given higher preference as well as more weightage in scoring than merely competitive pen-and-paper exams turned out to be higher performing managers than those who were educated in an evironment where the performance was strictly judged on the student's ranks based on competitive examinations.

It may be contended that it is the sense of competition that drives humans to better themselves and to achieve more than their peers. The success of capitalism is, in fact, contingent upon the sense of competition that pits firms against each other. However, we must remember that these firms are able to effectively compete and innovate because of the cooperative efforts of its employees. A human driven merely by the pursuit to overcome his fellow mates will learn nothing but hostility and shall, in fact, achieve much more while collborating with his peers than he would on his own.