The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition.

The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is indeed by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. Young people are often inspired by their surroundings and how everyone around them is responding to a particular thing. They tend to look at older people or their peers, and learn how to do work something out. From the way others resolve an issue to how others react to someone's emotions, young people adapt a lot of things that they see on a regular basis. Which is why it is necessary to be careful of the environment a young child is being brought up in.

When it comes to leadership skills, if young people work as a team they will be more aware of how others are treating an obstacle and they will evaluate their own method if it was better or if they could have been more efficient. The problem resolving strategy is developed by trial and error. If someone is put in a competition, they will only know if they failed or succeeded. They won't be able to figure out what was their opponent's strategy for tackling the problem, in fact, it will take a person more time to figure out an efficient strategy which could actually help them succeed. Which will again, lead to trial and error and if their oppponent does it better again, they will keep wasting their time in analysing their methods. Whereas in teamwork, everyone utilises a different strategy and all the other members are completely aware of what everyone is doing, this makes it easier to pick the best solution for a problem and then everyone can analyse their way of approach easily. Not only does this save time but it also develops a positive atmosphere within the team and this helps everyone to work with a clear, optimistic mindset.

When you work with people, you learn how everyone thinks and you learn their emotional response to a lot of things. This helps in making an individual more considerate towards others' feelings and how they can handle them. This skill is one of the most important skills of leadership. A leader is supposed to know how everyone will react to a particular situation and how those responses can be alleviated. Being more empathetic and aware of people's emotions will help a leader make better and wise decisions. The crowd should love their leader and a leader should know how to gain a crowd's attention.

If young people are prepared for leadership by making them work in a team, it will definitely create better leaders in the coming generation. Working as a team is always better than working alone.