The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The paragraph stated that the fondest way for young people to be prepared for society is insisting them a sense of leadership or cooperation. On certain fields of profession cooperation is focused rather than competition. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two question must be answered.

First, the society has a various roles for citizens to fill in. In other words, there are roles beyond leaderships in governments and industries. It is possible that working in the government requires a helpful mind rather than leaderships, perhaps being helpful for citizens solving their problem could do a better job for people seeking the government for help. For example, if an old lady is attending the state government for applying for disability proof, but the person working there has nothing but accusations for other colleagues, and could actually help with the person in need. Could the government and the industries and seeking for people who could actually solve problems and work their way up in to leading positions? If either of these scenarios, prepare young people for leaderships is significantly weakened.

Second, is cooperation and competition comparable? Either should be equally important for society development. Perhaps cooperation and competition are equally valued abilities. A pharmacy company would set up different group of scientists and managers to develop new medicines for different diseases. However the pharmacy wouldn't be a monopoly, different companies would definitely develop similar drugs for the market. In this case, working in the pharmacy business would require both competition and cooperation, the former one for competing for a better profit, the ladder for better products. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusions, flawed due to several unknown assertions. I disagree with the statement above.