Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

College and institution are among the most important place for students to seek guidance on career path. Students are practiced and trained by professors and closet to real world industry employees and employers who could bring them valuable experience. Base on these facts and others, the prompt recommends students to pick a highly beneficial career. Although a lucrative career might be a positive goal for one to follow, there two different reasons that outweight the immediate benefit.

To begin, money is one great reason to follow a career. It is undeniable that having a strong financial ability tremendously bolster a students life. In the United States, among the best colleges in the world, researches depict that more than 60 percent of college students use student loan to pay tuition. Moreover, many students live an autonomous life, independent from their parents, thus live their life paying back the college loan. It is highly important that after graduation, student manage to get a beneficial job so as to guaruantee a finanncial ability to afford life needs and pay the loan. A seemingly interesting job, but realistically low-income one can be a burden to carry for the rest of one's life. Therefore, aiming for money is a good cause.

However, events from the past show multiple cases of changing in job demand in the industry -- or on the other hand, a 'hot' job of a period might be a 'dying' one in another period. In the 1960s and 1970s, nuclear energy related job thrives in the market. The needs of nuclear energy to support electricity and power skyrocketted, leading to high demand, thus employee in this field had much easier time to find and settle down on this job. But, after 1980s, the nuclear engery field job demand gruadually decreased because of advancing machine replacing dangerous work of the employee and more importantly, cleaner and cheaper energy. To follow nuclear energy job is considered a noble cause, a risk of not only affordability but also health safety. In the current day, computer engineering is a trend in the market, which lead to the immediate question: "How long from now can be people live off this job?" Facebook and Google is aming at machine learning and artificial intelligence to speed up the work and potentially replace human worker. Of course, there will still be job for machine manufacturing or maintainace, but it is an inevitable truth that machine can perform significantly better without error. With the inconsistency in job market, one needs to be flexible and well-prepared to face changes in the future.

Last but not least, the ability to deliver fine work comes from one's passion and commitment. Happiness, or passion is a strong motivation above all of a good and consistent performance. There is one famous saying: "If you love your job, you will never have to work a day in your life". Take, for example, a previous highschool soccer player working in an accounting desk job. The person will have to sit behind the desk reading data and writing documents for the rest of his or her career, while looking at a famous soccer wallpaper in the background. Not to say that this person could not do the job, but the quality and consistency in the long run will plummet. Passion and commitment is a great cause to achieve goals in life. A passionate student is willing to spend his ample time doing and researching about his favorite subject, later proved to be experienced and fluent in performing the job than the one who does not have practice.

In the current industry world, it is hard to state the true cause behind the success of a person in career life. Some people might have to work in an uninteresting but high pay job for life reasons, meanwhile others follow their passion and dream job. The decision to choose a career path is best to let the individual carefully decide.