The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Instilling the sense of both cooperation and competition in preparing young people for the role of leadership in government, industry, or other field is a good notion. I will partly agree with both. To be a leader is to be able to handle and control lots of responsibilities. A leader is one who is selfless, hardworking, confident and a talented individual. A leader must be able to show by examples and not a jingolist.

Cooperation is an act of working as a team, seeing abilities in one another. Instilling and teaching young people about cooperation goes a very long way in raising a God fearing leader. once a leader already has the sense of cooperation, that individual can work as a team without being bias either in judgement or in assignment of duties. All other associates will be able to freely work with such leader to the development and growth of such society. Unlike a leader who lacks the sense and character of cooperation, such leader would find it very difficult to work with and as a team, such leader will rule as a monarch and won't consider other peoples opinion. This can result in hatred and even lead to the fall of such society. The society can never improve and if there is any development it will be so minute and difficult to achieve. A society who is led by a leader who sees cooperation as a theme will not require so much investment in security as every individual in that society is a watchman. There won't be fear of insecurity.

On the other hand, competition has its positive side. where there is competition, there is massive improvement and development as one team will want to be seen as working and relentless team, that type of a leader will work effortlessly to acheive what other leaders in the past cannot achieve during their tenure. A very good example is our electoral head of states. To attain a position as a leader would definitely comes with some sacrifice and endurance. As each leader is voted in, such leader will want to do every possible work to achieve a success and bring glory to their supporter during ther stipulated ruling period. A there is a saying that one good turn deserves another. when ther is competition, each leader will work hard to achieve a success.