The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

There are different ways of approaching a target and every way has its advantages and disadvantages. It is quite patent that there are some ways that are more reliable than others and results corroborating them can be found in the historical dataset pertaining to methods and their respective results. Two such methods are competition and cooperation. Although for a society to prepare its people for leadership in government or other fields, either can be applied, I disagree with cooperation being the way forward and support competition for three reasons.

To begin, it is important to highlight the naturally competitive nature of human beings. It is very difficult for every person to shy away from the congenital sense of competiting to better themselves. Thus, same is the case in young people preparing for leadership in government or other fields. To elaborate, we should consider the current parliamentarian structure of different countries that have a ruling party and an opposition party. Every party is competing to stay in power and the form of improvement applied is constructive criticism. In doing so, the opposition party identifies the flaws in the policies of the ruling party and also highlight its competence as a capable party to run the country. Had the parties been collaborative from the very onset, such corrective measures would not been put forth as that would have been treated as opposing the central policy and thus it is evident that competition has an edge over cooperation.

Further, competition is necessary to ensure there is room for other adroit participants to take part and contribute to the ongoing scheme of things. Competition is something that drives out the best in a person and thus help in the growth of the overall cause. To illustrate this, we can consider sports as a field that is highly competitive. Lawn Tennis is a very good sport that depicts how individuals perform differently when individually pressured as compared to team play. Rafael Nadal is a prime example of great individual performance who entered the scene when Roger Federer had established himself as an authority. But Nadal was able to up his game and sustain at the highest level for a very long time, owing to the competitive nature of the sport. Also, when it comes to team play. these players are not the greatest and thus we can see how competition is beneficial in the long run. Competition also helps bring out the best in the opposition, which is another benefit of competition.

Finally, it is also important to note that competition naturally breeds cooperation in a way that cooperation is ancillary to competition and smart people implement both in a way that yields better results. To throw some light on this, we can take the example of people working together as teams to accomplish a project in a software company. The teams have individuals competiting among themselves but it is the overall goal of achieving the desired end goal that is yields the best results. Hence people are competitive enough to understand that showing cooperation would help them leverage the strengths of the other person to their advantage and help achieve the bigger goal.

Having mentioned the above reasons, it is important to consider the other side of the argument where competition is not always the best and if taken beyond limits, competition can prove inimical. Consider individuals and countries vying for a desired commodity that can be lead them to take unscrupulous and treacherous paths that are condemnible and despicable. Thus it is important to keep the desire of achieving the end goal in check and since there are so many systems and organizations that keep an eye on such developments, there are more benefits of competition that disadvantages.

In conclusion, we can say that it is better to teach young individuals to compete than to collaborate most of the time to achieve success in leadership positions of countries, industries or other fields of work.