Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Discussion within a society is one of the most important tools to reach a substantial conclusion. In most cases, opinions of people thinking differently amalgate to conjure a solution that can be as conclusive as possible. Although there are factions of society that are unrelenting in their views and do not entertain a healthy discussion, it is my firm opinion that discussing controversial topics with people who are not like-minded can be beneficial for two reasons.

To begin, it is important to note that controversial topics require an in-depth analysis and a well-rounded discussion regarding the same is necessary since controversial topics may have an imminent impact on the society. To illustrate this, a parliament of any country is the hub for discussing things that are pertinent to the interests of the country and a lot of them could be controversial. The party in power and the opposition party, in most cases, do not align in their views. But this does not mean that such discussions are not useful. The point of the discussion is to reach a common ground by taking outside viewpoints, either in the form of criticism or suggestion, to finally engender a solution which satisfies most of the people.

Further, the point of people not yielding to other people's opinions seems futile since in most cases, the point of discussing controversial topics with people having contrasting views is not to change their opinions. Moreover, people standing firmly with their viewpoints can be correct in their individual spaces and thus result in a new line of thought. To elaborate on the same, I would suggest considering the example of science. Scientists, when discussing a new scientific phenomena, tend to pitch their viewpoints which are usually different from each other. In such a case, if all scientists have the same mindset, new ideas would be very hard to come by. A discussion so eclectic can most certainly result in new theories/ideas cropping up. Albert Einstein would never have thought of the quantum theory had he aligned himself with the existing traditional theory. Thus having discussions with varying opinions on controversial topics can actually be beneficial in the long run.

Although it is important to see that not all conclusions are certain in nature and can have the application of exceptional rules under different circumstances. A discussion with a person or group of people lacking sanity to some degree on a controversial topic can prove futile or dangerous in the long run. There have been instances where people with highly conservative ideology have actually jeopardised people with opposing views on topics sacred to the conservatives. Religion is one area that can be exception. But again, the frequency of such instances is very small and we know by logic that an exception cannot be used to define a trend. With growing sensibility, people tend to be more tolerant and thus, having discussions on topics that are not so simple can be made easy.

To conclude, I would like to state that having discussions with people of opposing views on controversial topics can prove fecund as it enables one to grow in their intellectual capability and also be more tolerant to diverse opinion.