The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Today's younger generation will form the base for future prospects of a country. A child's youth will play a huge impact on his career, thus, in turn on the society in which he is living in. It is very important to nurture this child in his childhood to make him a successful person. Parents, teachers, schools and society at large will play a huge deal in this process. There are many qualities that he needs to develop before reaching a earning individual. Of which, Leadership is one of the strong pillars that forms the basis in an individual. Leadership requires many qualities like compassion, cooperation, competitiveness. The issue here focusses on building the leadership through a sense of cooperation, not by competition. I don't completely agree with the statement due to 2 reasons.

Firstly, In this globalised world, competition is everywhere in one's life. Several thousands were competing for a job/ securing a seat in university, etc. Unlike probably tens decades ago. This sense of competitiveness should be instilled in a chid from his younger age in order for him to handle it adroitly when he becomes young and mature. This is much severe for people in leadership roles as they need to exhibit high level of competitiveness in order to make his firm successful.

Secondly, Many people are falling into depression or experience panic attacks because they lack proper competitivness to compete in this modern world. Due to constant comparisions with other people/ firms, leaders need to be equipped fully to tackle broad range of issues ranging from political, global, geological etc. This takes a huge toll on their mental health and cause several health issues. This is not a quality that can be developed without nurthuring in few days. It takes years to build and it becomes part of our life not mere a skill that we execute on demand.

Some people may argue that cooperation plays a huge deal than competition. It maybe true in some cases but won't be that much effective than competitiveness.