The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author has stated four reasons for the parents who consider to enroll their child in music lessons in joining 'The Mozart School of Music'. He stated that the school should be the parents first choice. He has argued his point by providing four reasons with several holes and unstated assumptions. For the parents to consider his recommendation, the following three questions must be answered.

First of all, Do the Mozart graduates who became well-known and highly paid musicians really leart all their important skills in the Mozart school or they are naturally talented? It is possible that these people have natural talents which helped them achieve the elite status and the effect of their schooling might have played a little role. It is also possible that these people might have get their further schooling elsewhere, which taught them to perform at highest level. If either of the above is true, then the argument used by the author is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Do the lack of audition to attend the school only bring good talents and not bad talents? The audition plays a huge role in knowing the talent of the students and their relevance to study in the particular school. The lack of it means, many undeserving people might join the school and hamper the experience of other students. It also effects negatively to the school, which sees itself as a top most school in music. If the above hold true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Thirdly, Are there enough distinguished faculty to teach all the students alike with atmost care? It is stated that there are some distinguished faculty working in their school. It is possible that only a few people might have distinguished and remaining are normal faculty who work under their instruction. If the above hold true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

The argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The author should answer the above questions and give more evidence (perhaps, in the form of a systematic research study) to properly evaluate the viability of the recommendation to join the children in 'The Mozart School of Music.