The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement is one i would partially agree with but not to a great extent. Cooperation is a good quality that must be instilled in the young people as it brings about development and peace, however, not the extent of negating or neglecting healthy competition. For example, when young ones see that there is a prize for coming first in an examination, students tend to work harder and even go to extra mile to put in effort they would not of put in is there was no prize.

Secondly, cooperation brings about peace but where there is no healthy competition, the young ones become lazy and that can be detrimental for the future generation. For example, few years ago, the boss the restaurant where i worked, changed the company policy to make everyone earn equally, irrespective of how much sales they make, people were initially happy to hear about the equal opportunity but after the first two month, there was a noticeable decline in the monthly sales of the top ranking sales rep as they now feel less motivated.

Thirdly, idea of cooperation without competition might be good culturally but for industrial leadership, it is not the best idea. In industries, there s competition among several industries especially those with similar goals or who offers similar service. For such industries to remain relevant, they must be willing to compete. Young ones need to be prepared for such challenge. It may be argued that cooperation with members of staff of your company will put the company in good shape to stay ahead of other institutions, however that sense of competition will not be available when mostly needed if the society fail to encourage healthy competition from on set.

Fourtly, leadership in govt requires relating with other countries in terms of trade and other social engagement, sense of cooperation will help the society to be in one accord but sense of competition prepares you for the tougher days and instill the characters that put you ahead of any challenge when they arise. Sense of cooperation will only help you to stay together during the challenging days but may not give you the intellectual capacity to easily surmount