The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super-Screen produced movies that any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not which the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the advertising director, fewer people have attended Super Screen Products movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie viewers about specific movies increased. Thus, the advertising director is concluding that the problem lies with the public lack of awareness. However, , some questions need to be answered to ascertain the logicality of these recommendation of the director.

Firstly, are there no other reasons why people who are aware of the good quality movie still decided not to watch movie at Super screen in the past year? What if there was a road diversion against traffic that make it difficult for people to patronise the movies.

Secondly, are the weather conditions of last year the same as those of the past year? There could be a change in weather condition that made people remain in their houses and avoid taking time out to relax and watch movies.

Thirdly, Are there no other events that took place for major parts of last year, such as the maiden edition of the beauty pageant? People may have prioritised that to watching movies, since it's once in 10 years.

Fourthly, is the economic situation of the country the same as in the previous years? It could be that people are not financially stable as in previous years which can make them put movie as a secondary thing in their budget.

Attempt to answer these questions will go a long way in helping to evaluate the recommendations of the director, without which the argument is flawed.