The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry and other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I disagree with the claim that society should prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields by instilling them in a sense of cooperation, not competition. I do not think that they should have a sense of solely cooperation or solely competition. They should have equal senses of these, some individuals more than others, but they should have equal exposure.

First, I will outline why society should instill to its young people a sense of cooperation to prepare them for leadership. All individuals in leadership roles, whether it be the principal of a school, the chief executive officer of a corporation, or the President of the United States create their own policies, procedures, and guidelines that should be followed by the people that they lead. How can they create these policies, procedures, and guidelines if they never had to cooperate with someone else's guidelines? How will they know what they want to change or what they want to adhere to if they never had examples to help them while being under someone else's leadership? If people that wish to lead one day have a sense of cooperation when they are younger, then they have the ability to become fair and just leaders. Dictatorship, especially inherited dictatorship is an example that shows how no sense of cooperation can make someone a terrible leader. Kim Jong Un, the dictator of North Korea, has only had a sense of being in power, as the Kim Jong family have been in power for ages. He only knows what it is like to rule as his father has before him. The Kim Jong family are able to do whatever they please, while their people are dying of starvation and only are allowed to believe what they are told by the Kim Jongs. Kim Jong Un has also never had a sense of competition, since his position was inherited, which is a point that will be outlined in the next paragraph.

While a society should instill a sense of cooperation in its young people, it should also instill a sense of competition to them. If there is no competition, how will young people know that they want positions of leadership and power? The sense of competition will prepare them for campaigning and succeeding in order to get the positions that they want later in life. However, they will only succeed with this competition if they also have a sense of cooperation. The only people that I personally know in life that hold leadership positions as adults are people who faced competition and were in leadership positions as children. Examples of these competitions that may prepare young people for positions of leadership and power are high school debate teams, student body council, etc. Just as this sense of competition will help prepare young people for positions of leadership later in life, it will also help them to determine if they do not want to be in these leadership positions. Not everyone can hold leadership positions or even want to hold them.

In conclusion, I believe that societies should instill both a sense of cooperation and a sense of competition among its young people to prepare them for leadership positions. This gives them exposure to both sides which will ultimately make them better leaders.