The best way for a society to train its young people for leadership in government, industry and other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim in developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Life in itself, is full of competition, right from conception to birth – and the struggle still continues, even after birth. Most young people are exposed to this competitive nature of life early in life. The society in which they grew up has also done much harm in wiring the brain of young ones to competition, rather than cooperation. But have we been able to achieve anything substantial with this discordant nature compare to what we can achieve if we all come together in solidarity. According to a common saying, “Divided we fall, together we stand”.

The Educational system is not left behind. For example, educational system rewards students who do very well in their education. This kind of strategy to encourage learning only create room for competition among the students. The quest for becoming the best in the class makes some students not to share useful materials, at their disposal, with their colleagues which will cumulatively helped in better understanding what was thought in the class.

One of the essential skills to stay relevant in the future of work is the ability to work in a team. It is high time the educational system and other stake holders who trained young leaders started training young people on how to function effectively in a team. The training can even start at home by ensuring that every member of the family has a sense of responsibility and works with other member of the family to achieve a common goal.

It has been postulated that Nobel prize award in coming years will be won by groups rather than individual. over the years, we have seen how noble prize was won by individuals who had contributed to the body of knowledge in their field. Today, it has become imperative to work in a team to achieve a common goal. And for any team to be productive, it is important that each member of the team is dedicated to the cause and cooperate with each member of the team. Hence, the need to train young people by instilling in them a sense of cooperation.

On the other hand, one could argue that, at times, there is need to stand up and fight for the right of people who shared the same value system. However, it should not be at the expense of harmony with factions with different believe. We can only know the beginning of a war; no one can tell the consequences. For example, the issue of xenophobia is a great concern in South Africa. What is such society teaching the young ones? Perhaps the cause of the agitation was right, but there is always another way to find a solution other than killing of innocent non-indigenes. If care is not taking, definitely, the upcoming generations will follow the same steps of their fathers, this will subsequently create a society where Peace can only be nominal and not achievable.

Ultimately, leadership position is a delicate one that requires persons of the same core values coming together. The success of any nation depends on the cooperation between the leaders who were elected to rule the country. Therefore, it is important that we nurture and groom young minds by encouraging unity and not dissonance.