The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company does make some compelling points in his memo, however, there is some key information missing to support his claims.

One question that could be asked but is not in the memo, is was there a raise in prices overall for movies? An increase in prices could largely affect the amount of movie-goers overall, and not just for Super Screen movies in particular. An increase in prices may cause people to wait for all movies to be available on video-on-demand services, where they are usually significantly cheaper than at movie theaters. The prospective viewers may have read the good movie reviews and want to see the movie, but do not go to the theater to do it because of a rise in prices. A rise in movie ticket prices could be the reason for less movie-goers instead of lack of awareness, thus the argument the advertising director proposes remains invalid.

The advertising director also makes a hasty judgement at the end of his memo. The advertising director does not have any supporting evidence to come to the conclusion that the budget should be allocated to more advertising to reach the public. To come to any conclusion as to why fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies, the advertising director could propose that a survey be conducted. If a survey were conducted, then a better point could be made in the memo as to what can be done to increase the amount of Super Screen movie-goers again. Without any evidence, there is no proof that allocating more of the budget to advertising will work to draw in more Super Screen movie-goers. Allocating more of the budget to another area without any evidence has the potential to harm Super Screen Movie Production Company more instead of to help it.

In closing, the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company does raise some compelling points in his memo, however, they are missing a large amount of evidence and information to make the claim valid.