The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim that young people have to be prepared for leadership with a sense of cooperation and not competition cannot be agreed upon. There are many factors and examples that say otherwise, a few of which are explained below.

Firstly, a sense of competition is very important in life. A healthy competition is always a good thing. Considering the preparedness of young people to become leaders, competitions will make them more involved in this whole process. It will be a challenging task for them, making them more eager to wanting to win. All this leads to them putting in more efforts and having better outcomes. For example, if two people are asked to paint a picture together. They would just do it based on their interest. If the same two people were asked to participate in a painting competition, they would work harder and try to make their painting the best. This is because winning in a competition would make more confident and prove that they are better. Winning would also bring them recognition, whereas none of this would matter if they were simply asked to paint something together.

Secondly, when young people are competing to become leaders, they might reach a point where they would face a lot of hurdles or struggles. This would be a good way for them to overcome difficult situations, making them stronger. All these would count as good experiences for them even before becoming leaders, giving them a better understanding of handling things and to be ready for any kind of obstacles.

Thirdly, it is not entirely wrong to have a sense of cooperation too. As cooperation makes them understand people better and be ready to work with different people for different stuff. It also makes them understand things from other peoples perspective, making them empathetic.

In conclusion, though instilling a sense of cooperation in young people to prepare them for leadership, competition makes them more ready to face challenges and struggles. It keeps them ready for unforseen situations which is very important for a leader.