The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In today's demanding world, the need for a strong and supreme command is an important factor which determines the extent of efficacy of the institution. The statement states that the best way for a society to prepare it's young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. Being a staunch believer of pragmatic approach, I disagree with this for the following two reasons.

In this ever expanding world, there is an overabundance of people vying for the same position but having varying leadership qualities. The sense of competition not only drives you to do your best but also helps push yourself to the farthest extent. For instance, as history suggests, America has always had a plethora of great swimmers. But, very few of these swimmers get a chance to actually represent their nation at the international level. Michael Phelps was one of those swimmers who was lucky enough to have done that. He once said in an interview after winning a record six gold medals at the 2008 Beijing Olympics - "Competition has what made me push myself everday, knowing I had to do better than the rest and come out a winner every single time I dived into that pool". It was a sense of confidence that motivated him to do better everday and not quit. This was an essential factor which helped him lead the American swimmers to victory in almost all the events in the 2008 Olympics. It instilled not only a sense of courage but also passion in all the younger generations looking up to them. This shows why it is imperative to have a sense of competition.

In fields like the government or industry, everything is not as easy as it seems. Here, sometimes, cooperating means digging your own grave. It may not be the right thing to do morally, but that is what is required if you want to come out on top at the end. For instance, Facebook had to fend off competition from various other platforms like Reddit and Orkut in order to make it to the top and come out as a winner. This did not happen due to a sense of cooperation, but due to a sense of competition. By cooperating, they would not have probably been where they are today. This shows the effect of prioritizing competition over cooperation in this cruel, gruesome world.

Although, some may argue that cooperating can develop and foster a sense of harmonious living. It may lead to a better standard and condition in this cut-throat world. But let's be pragmatic here and see what the actual world is out there : cruel, gruesome and cut-throat, with no place for people who readily cooperate on evverything and anything. It may not be possible to cooperate and achieve what can be achieved by instilling a sense of competition among the younger generation. A lot of emminent personalities have shown their faith in the ubiquitous phrase - "If you want it, go get it. Take what is yours and what you deserve, cause no one is going to serve it to you on a silver platter."