The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

It is often said that a teacher may not have to be a human : it can be a situation, an exam, a library or even time as a matter of fact. The statement states that the best way to teach is by encouraging positive actions and by showing a blind eye to the mistakes made. Being a huge advocate of pragmatic teaching, I would disagree with a particular segment of the statement for a number of reasons as discussed further.

I believe that the aim of teaching is ultimately, learning. And learning can happen anywhere as does teaching. Encouragement and receiving accolades is something every person looks forward to. Praising can do wonders for a person : it not only lifts the mood and self confidence of the person but also encourages him to strive further and achieve his or her goals. For instance, in the 2006 World Cup semi-final, an inexperienced France side were losing to England and were almost down and out. But, a few words of praise and chants of encouragement turned the tide around. Invigorated, France went on to win not only the match but also the prestigious World Cup. This example illustrates the sheer effect of appraisal and encouragement. They learnt to strive till the end and not give up.

Although praising does wonders to a person, it is equally harmful to avoid and ignore the mistakes made. “Failure is the stepping stone to success” - this paraphrase has been used umpteen number of times in the history of mankind. Many emminent personalities have been criticised for their failures in inventions they eventually discovered. For instance, Thomas Alva Edison, the inventor of the bulb, failed more than a thousand times before he finally got it right. And he publicly thanked his adversaries for criticising him as those were the times that really taught him lessons, which ran deeper than school books or libraries. By ignoring the mistakes made, you give up a chance to learn something new, to become better and to come out stronger. In fact, mistakes are not only essential for learning but also the greatest teachers.

Although, some might argue that mistakes only discourage you and in turn end up being the reason for your failure but I believe that positive actions play an extremely important role in teaching, but analyzing the mistakes play an even more important role. So, teaching should have a perfect balance of appraisal and criticism to actually achieve the ultimate goal - Learning. This summarizes the need for change in the modern day methodologies which will help us generate a brighter future.