The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industry sent a mail to the company’s president recommending him to implement electronic monitoring of the employees’ Internet usage. He reasons that it is quintessential to reduce the time spent on personal / recreational purposes, thereby increasing productivity and fostering a good work place ethic which will convert into profits. But, before we recommend these points, a few questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the vice president argues that monitoring of employees is essential and so is their punishing in case of any violation. But, are the employees children anymore that they have to be punished?

He adds that it is an important step to curb the personal / recreational activities of the employees. But, is it possible for an employee to work the entire time, each minute they are in office without respite? In fact, working continuously, without any breaks may lead to saturation of the employees’ mindset and in turn affect their efficiency. This is exactly opposite what the vice president aims to achieve. This would greatly dent the efficacy of the implementation of this policy.

Furthermore, he says that it is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. But, will monitoring their Internet activity stop the employees from going out for a smoke or a snack break and waste time? It is possible that the employees might go out for a while for a break or to drink tea/coffee and end up wasting more time tha what they would have if they could just take a quick break by staying in the office doing some activity that woud help them release stress. This is another reason to consider before coming to a conclusion on this policy.

The vice president is affirmative that this measure will foster a better work ethic and improve the overall profit. But what is the guarantee that the employees aren’t frustrated by this policy? This will in turn throw shade on the policy implemented. Similarly, what is the possibility that the profits will increase due to this? The profits might not increase or may increase due to some other factor like the boom in their sales sector or a huge investment. If this is true, it will greatly undermine his affirmative statement.

So, in conclusion, although it may be a good work ethic, but it’s efficacy cannot be determined unless the above questions are answered, maybe in the form of a survey or research. The questions stated here are important to the overall mental well being of the employees as well as the company and hence should be considered before reaching a conclusion, solely in the hopes of achieving profits. Sometimes, short term solutions can become long term progress inhibitors. So, considering the overall situation meticulously is extremely important to gauge the effect on the company in the long run.