The best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition.

Leadership is the ability to have direct or indirect control over a certain group of people, coordinating their actions to meet a common goal. Now as much as we have many leaders in the world today, peple are not born inherently with good leadership traits. That is leaders are not born but they are made. And for the advancement of society each generation must do their best in cultivating the incipient generation to be better leaders than the current. Cooperation is the act of working together collectively as a group to reach a common goal while competition is working individually to see who reaches the goal first in the best way possible.

Now while competition is very much needed among the younger generation as studies have shown that people are more engendered to put their best into something when there is a reward at the end, even if the reward is a simple acknowledgement at being the best, the place of cooperation cannot be overstated in our society.

To be a great leader, one must possess the traits of great sportsmanship and teamwork. I would use professional sports as an example, many professional athletes in sports which require a team have been shown to report fewer cases of mental health breakdown as opposed to sports where the athletes compete individually. This is true irrespective of the fact that these team sports have team captains and star players which may seem to outshine the others sometimes, but the overall presence of people who can relate to the same goal which they strive towards makes their force as a team even more formidable. But sports which the athletes have just competition to face and no one to cooperate with and work together with other than trainers who cannot relate to their immediate plight tend to feel more alone and thus leading to increased mental strain. This clearly indicates that the task and burdens which are naturally associated with leadership can be made less severe by cooperation.

Also in leadership, as much as competition brings out the best in people, one very important characteristic of a leader is the ability to gain the loyalty of his followers and this can only be achieved by cooperative skills rather than competition which teaches one primarily to standout and standout alone.

Also in leadership one must know that the most important aspect of the job is looking out for those who look up to you. Competition would teach one to look out for their selfish interest which is the advancement of their "image" as a good leader rather than the overall quality of the people or task that has been left in their care.

In conclusion, I would say that while both competition and cooperation are very good character building tools, in terms of leadership one out weighs the other and that one is cooperation.