"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

While the inference drawn from the fact that the percentage of positive reviews have not declined but attendance have been less than the previous year means the reviews haven't been reaching the prospective viewers may seem plausible, it is not necessarily the case and thus increasing the amount spent on advertising may be a loss to the company financially as the argument is rife with assumptions and holes, because there may be numerous reasons of the decline in attendance or ineffectiveness of the advertising.

First of, the advertising director is assuming that the prospective viewers are going to be accessed via advertising channels used by the Production company. It is a possibility that the prospective viewers are not in the subscribed to whichever means he chooses to advertise through. That is he may advertise via mail or newspaper dailies or magazines and the viewers consume most of their information from TV and social media.

There is also the assumption that the positive reviews they have been getting from the few patron this year is a honest one. The movie reviewers may be inclined to give a positive review to boost the morale of the production company and its staff as they have noticed the scarcity of people in the movies as compared to other years.

Also the argument is completely based on the awareness of the movies and nothing else. It doesn't take into account the economic climate of the times as in cases where there have been some sort of market crash or the other, such as the stock market crash of 2008, activities such as going to see a movie (which is not a necessity) is now see as a luxury to most people due to the now limited resources to make ends meet.

If these questions put forward cannot be answered without speculation, then the argument is invalid and the investment of more money in the advertising of the production company would be a futile allocation of resources.