The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To prepare young folks for leadership in any field can be done by imbibing them with cooperation. competition is a great way to grow as it pushes us to our limits and helps us outgrow ourselves but to lead people we need to view them as a team and not a competition and hence we need to cooperate to become a great leader. A good leader is one who fosters growth in every member of their team.

cooperation is the essence of a team. it brings out the best in everyone while not making them insecure of other people in the team. When we think of a leader an image of a humble person loved by everyone pops up. For example, Abraham Lincoln emancipated blacks from slavery. he did that because he wanted everyone to be equal and cooperate to make the country better. A sense of competition would not have allowed him to take such drastic steps.

Furthermore, empathy is what makes a true leader. If a person can see from other's point of view and understand the situation, they can solve it better. this sense of collaboration on a mental level is a must for a leader. A collaborative effort will more often than not take the team to greater heights. A sense of competition within the team will always bog the team down and will lead to internal conflicts. it might lead to everyone trying to give themselves more importance than necessary and fostering an environment where more frenemies are born than leaders.

In contrast, it is true that competition aids in development in any field, not just leadership. we are able to become a better self of us but like it is said this deal is too good to be true, most of the time. it is usually difficult for people to consider someone a leader, who they consider to be a competition. leaders born out of competition will never be able to think about their team above themselves which is not what a leader should be like.

In conclusion, a sense of cooperation and competition are qualities a person should possess but for leading in any field they need to be cooperative with everyone, be it their team, management, or any other people connected to them. cooperation will always go a long way for people working in a team. they will be able to better foster productive growth helping everyone around them and being a true leader.