The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Consumer-generated wastes are among the leading causes of environmental problems such as flooding, environmental pollutions, as well as serving as reserviours for disease vectors. While the more feasible way to counter this concern is to restrict the amount of consumer-generated waste, this may not entirely be the best cause of action for several reasons.

A study carried out by the department of environmental safety at a University in Ibadan compared the effectiveness of waste disposal processes carried out individuals and disposal authorities. The result showed that disposal agencies had more efficient and environmentally safe methods of eliminating wastes. An example: a rural domestic household in the slums of Nigeria would rather dispose their refuse and sewage in a nearby stream or river. This clogs the river eventually leads to flooding and water pollution. This is mainly due to poor knowledge of waste disposal processes on the part of the households. Thus restricting the amount of trash to be collected by city from houses would only have a negative rebound effect as it would only further cause the people to dispose trash in more environmentally harmful processes; defeating the entire purpose of the recommendation.

Households are not the only sources or consumer generated wastes. A similar reaserch by the department of nutrition showed that majority of residents of Oyo state, Nigeria, prefer to eat their food as eatery and restuarants. There for in this instance, consumer waste would bee higher at this locations. Deciding to reduce the waste from households alone does not give a representative effect on the waste from eateries. This defeats the entire purpose to restricting waste generation by consumers.

Athough, it may be considered that limiting the amount of waste collected from households would improve their knowledge of waste recycling. This only holds true in climaxes where residents have adequate knowledge of waste disposal. For example, rural residents in the slums of Osun state, Nigeria, barely have enough academic education to for them to understand the importance of waste recycling.; talkless of the patients. They sould not understand he importance and the process. Rather they’d accumulate such wastes in their houses, breeding disease vectors and causing environmental pollution.

In summary, while restricting the amount of trash received from households would have significant effects on the limiting the amount of wastes generated by consumers, it is only observable in climes where residents are well educated on the effects of environmental pollution and how to properly dispose their wastes.