Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

It have been discovered that choice of academic field of study determines the career path of students post-graduation. As such, this policy of encouraging students to choose fields that will prepare them for lucrative careers is a commendable recommendation. It is in the best interest of students to pick courses associated with lucrative careers mainly because of the benefits of financial stability on in the future. In this response I would be analyzing my view of this policy and giving reasons for my stance in support thereof.

Firstly, given the current economic state of the world, lucrative career paths are the most assured way to ensure financial stability on the long run. Therefore, urging students to choose courses associated with this fields poses as investments into their future which is certain to yield positive returns. The current market fluctuations in Nigeria constantly increases that awareness that the economic state of the nation is unpredictable. As a result, students are encouraged to think prudently in selecting course on students in University level. This as resulted in a shift from commonly preferred medical course to tech oriented course like data analysis, web development.

Secondly, encouraging students to take courses associated with lucrative fields provides an avenue for them to acquire required foundational skills and knowledge to function effectively in those career paths. A students to takes data courses on programming with python, java; analysis with Microsoft excel, power Bi, SQL etc. has a head-start in that career field. This provides an advantage over people that switch over to these web design or data analysis fields after post-graduation. As such this policy would be a means by which students that start building their competences for these lucrative fields.

Although this is arguably important to encourage students to choose fields of study that are associated with their passions and interest, mostly

because it would assure them of job satisfaction and happiness in the future. A painter who is urged to consider a career in relative lucrative fields like accounting or business development would have little to no satisfaction with the job in spite of the financial benefits. However, studies have found that over time such individual come to derive a sense of satisfaction when they are able to carve a niche for themselves in these fields.

In conclusion, this policy to encourage students to choose fields associcated with lucrative career paths is quite plausible.It provides a means for student to invest into a financially stable future in spite of the uncertainties in the global economy; and it gives the foundational prerequisites to function effectively in these career field. Moreover they are assured on deriving a sense of satisfaction on the long run.