The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The widespread environmental pollution has been a burning issue in the world at the moment, the major contributor of which are the consumer based household waste products, which are often misplaced an mismanaged. It has been debated that limiting the consumer-generated waste for each household in towns and cities would be a good alternative to ameliorate the envirnomental problems. While I agree with the fact that imposing such stringent rules would bring some changes in the behaviorial pattern of people, I beileve that this solution has more negative ramifications as compared to its benefits. Such views are further explored in the impending paragraphs.

Studying human behaviour, it can be easily understood that when limitations are applied to something, people are often attracted towards breaking such constrains. This can easily be examplified by the increase in demand of "Kinderjoy-eggs", a chocolate confection, deemed as a chocking hazard by the United States in 2000 AD, right after their ban. This shows that, whenever people are asked not to do someting by the government, their want to flout such restriction is often exhilerated, which would be the case imposed in the amount of waste to be produced by each household. As the government impose the limits strictly, the people are led to dispose their excess waste in haphazardly, leading to further intensification of the issue of environmental pollution.

Moreover, imposing limitations on exactly same amount of waste to be generated from a household would not be a proper measure applicaple to all, as the wastes generated by diferent families and their amount varies sporadically, as per the family's consumer pattern. Such that, implying that the same amount of waste is to be produced by the family, would work for families who rely less on packaged goods and materials, but would be a huge problem for the ones with the general amount of waste generated is greated than an average househiold, which is a deemed by the government. In such conditions, rather that being motivated to change or limit their waste production, they would be motivated the dump their "excess-waste" in places like rivers or sidewalks, which would do no good to the current environmental issues.

In the meantime, the solution of limiting waste production is not all bad, as if it can be imposed alongside proper awareness programs to educate the people about their carbon footprint, then this can make a serious impact to assuage the dire environmental problems. But, the government must be lenient to the general public and make them understand the issue in-hand leading to the rules being imposed, rather than imposing a stringent rule without any consideration to the public awareness.

As envirnomental issues are often mitigated by a change in the human behaviorial pattern, which could only be done by raising awareness among the people about their impact and well as the roles they can play in order to solve such issues. But imposing strict limits, rules and fines without any consideration to the people's understanding would only lead to people acting out and flouting such rules without proper care about the repercussions of such activities. Thus, I beileve such rules and limits would only work if paired with proper edifying efforts.