In many countries people do not do enough to recycle their used materials (glass, paper, metal).What do you think are the reasons for this? What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

The negligent behavior of people towards their carbon footprint, leading to the recyclable wastes, including glass, paper and metals, going to the landfills is a burning issue at present. There are multiple causes leading to these acts, the major being lack of proper knowledge, which can be solved through the collaborative efforts of both the people as well as the government. The impending write-ups explore the reasons and suggest possible solutions for such problems.

Having no prior knowledge for the distinction of the recyclable materials from the garbage among the people is a leading cause for the lesser waste being recycled. Studies have shown, more than 80% of the general population in Nepal do not have sufficient knowledge on distinction of the materials that can be recycled, making segregation of the waste being done inaccurately. Moreover, those who have the knowledge to distinguish these materials are still negligent about the implications due to a lack of proper authority imposing rules to promote recycling.

In order to solve these problems both the local authority and the government can equally play their roles. Local authorities can raise awareness among the people about the positive impacts of recycling as well as conduct training for teaching proper segregation of recyclable waste. Meanwhile, imposing stricter rules against improper disposal of waste by the government can help promote the behavior, making people abide by their civic duty. The sharp incline in the amount of wastes recycled in Ghana after imposing a fine system perfectly exemplifies how healthy behavior can be fostered through by the regulations.

All in all, the reasons behind the problem of less waste turning up to the recycling facilities are due lack of awareness for some, while irresponsible behavior despite the knowledge for others. Thus, spreading awareness locally, at the meantime administering rigid policies by the government can help solve the problem.