"The Best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative Ones"

I partially agree with the author's recommendation "The best way to praise positive actions and ignore negative Ones",which is successful most of the times but i do not agree to the fact of "All or Nothing" it provides.Student should be rewarded when they perform well and when they perform sub optimally they should get through it and understand what they can make better to get the reward or perform optimally in any situation.

Here, the author presents a very strong recommendation which is based on the fact that when you praise or appreciate the performance of a student , then it motivates him/her to do well further.So, the teacher is more focused on extracting the positive energy in them which will drive them to perform better .

But why the author thinks that only praising positive actions is the best way to teach? Some students have more ability to perform better but all student doesn't have. That doesn't mean that students who do not perform well do not know or do not have the Knowledge or ability to do well. There are some other factors which affect them. So, the teacher should point out all those factors and let the student know that if those factors are affecting you then, you should ignore those factors and work on them to eradicate them and let them know how they can perform better. So, some times the Teacher need to point out some negative factors that affects a student performance and let him/her know that She/He can perform better and they are no less than the elite ones.

Ignoring the negative action will never work in case of teaching unless and untill the Student is aware of it. Most of the times we do not know what we are doing and that affects our performance. Sometimes pointing out the negative ones and listing them in order to avoid works very well. Praising positive action is mandatory but having said that you cannot ignore the negative actions for which they can never distinguish the differences in their performances.

If we consider a situation in sports , let's say Basketball,A player named Biranchi, plays really well and he/she is the most prominent player in his/her team.His skills are such that he can make his team win out of any situation. He is trained and he is very skillfull player and he knows the tricks to baffle other and let the basket happen. But on the other side, he is very aggressive and chaotic, if someone sledges him for silly thing he just let his aggressiveness overcome his skills and he goes on to reply to the other player and prove other that he is the one for his team. This kind of aggressiveness does affects a player's performance. It doesn't matter how skillfull you are , on that particular day he will loose the game.

Now, the responsibility of coach is not only to praise his skills that he displays in Basketball court but also work on his aggressiveness which affects his performance which will let the player realise that he is not performing well when he gets pugnacious. So, in those situation the coach must train him to stay calm and maintain his cool.

So, by eliciting both positive and negative actions and working on those action to perform better is something i recommend and agree with.You need to speak to them , let them know what is wrong and what is right so that they will perform better. Here , the author's recommendation is biased. It should work on both the ways . The best way to teach is to praise positive action and work on negative actions of any students or player so that they will have an idea of what is wrong and what is right and can give their best in anything they do.