"The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones"

firstly, you can not teach someone. you can encourage or discourage someone to learn something himself/herself. you should not only praise someone's positive actions that he/she did. you should also discourage him/her for doing negative action instead of neglecting bad deeds.

if you praise someone's good deeds, he/she will be encouraged to do more good deeds. if you mildly criticize someone's bad deeds, he/she will be discouraged to do such deeds in future, otherwise he/she may do the bad deeds again and again.

in sports, the coach should praise his/her player for playing according to discipline and strategies that he/she encourages them to learn. this praise will boost them to play more accurately and diligently. supporters should also praise them for the same reason. sometimes, in sports we see motivated players do very well and gain the championship status. in this case, the opponent seem less motivated by their coach or supporters. in football, at first half, we see sometimes a team play very bad. in this situation, if the coach or supporters just neglect them, the team may play same bad again at the next half-time. The team can learn something from the first half's bad playing and utilizes these learnings for next half of the game.

Sometimes, over-praising someone's good deeds can be dangerous for him/her. he/she can be overconfidence. we know overconfidence does not bring good for all time. that's why praising someone's deed should be in moderate level.

so, instead of ignoring bad deeds we can pay some attention to the bad deeds to learn something valuable. by knowing the mistakes we can reduce the mistakes.