Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this modern technological era, we can easily communicate or express our opinions through different technological tools such as several video streaming platforms like Youtube, Several social media like Facebook, Twitter. etc. The terminology 'scandals' can be meant by action that offends moral standards, rules, and regulations. People use scandals to defame a particular person through these technological tools. The issue recommends that scandals can focus our attention on our problems in ways that no speaker or any person ever could. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion for the following reasons.

Scandals are very strong actions that could people use to criticize a person. When a large number of people can know a scandal of a person, they defame this person publicly. At this defamation, the person can be conscious and get to know what he/she offends propriety or established moral conceptions. As a result, in the future, he/she might intend not to do the scandals again. However, when only a speaker or reformer defame the person who did the scandals, he/she can ignore them and it is very easy to do for him/her. For example, the mayor of Dhaka city corporation had a scandal of corruption which is leaked and spread out through social media. The people of Dhaka city defamed and criticized the mayor for this malfeasance. Even the family members of the mayor also took the side of the people of the city. By understanding the circumstances, the mayor gave a press briefing and said that he is sorry for the scandals and in the future, he will not any kind of malfeasances.

However, while many professionals promote the notion that scandals are always good for a person to get rid of his offense, I believe the opposite should be argued given in the situation of exaggerated scandal can damage a person's life. For example, a Bangladeshi TV model did suicide a few years ago, because some private pictures of her were leaked through the internet. However, we should not take the scandals as such serious rather we should take it as more positive to know our mistakes.

The issue may not be resolved to everybody's satisfaction, but in the long run, promoting the idea that scandals are good to get focused on our own problems, will lead to the betterment of all involved.