The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

“To err is to human”. A very famously known phrase that means that making an error is part of being human. But not learning from it is being dope.

When a child is born, a child emulates his mother or other people around the house. During this process of growth, there are several times when a child does and does not do the right thing. Because the learning span of a child is unbelievably wide, how the elders reflect to the child’s notoriousness can create a huge impact on the young seed. It is important to take into account every action of the learner if the intention is to teach.

If positive actions like watering the plants or helping their mother, are not lauded or even acknowledged, the child will lose all motivation to help and grow up with the attitude of no one believing in him, or that nobody cares.

Whereas negative actions like speaking back to an elder, or ill-treating a worker in the household are ignored, they can result in making the neophyte being brash and sanctimonious in nature. Because the child is winsome and innocent, the elders tend to let go of his/hers negative actions. But that should never be the case.

Reflecting on a child’s or for that matter, any human’s negative as well as positive actions is imperative for the elders or the more experienced.

The same concept can be applicable to a fresher in his new job. Mentors responsible to carry out the settlement and working of a first-time employee, need never overlook a negative action and must praise his positive action.

If the mentor avoids acknowledging the work of a fresher, it could result in a lack of interest and invalid work in the future.

Conclusively, it is important for any didactic being, to take into account both kinds of actions in the learner. Whether it be praising or refuting.