“As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and more mysterious.”

Can one really know about everything and be content with it?

It is said that life is more troublesome for those who seek answers than those who accept what comes along. While many believe that acquiring more and more knowledge is sufficient to understand the world, no one can become a know-it-all, because the more one knows the more questions arise. Such is the nature of the human brain.

Let’s look at an example of a little child who doesn’t know where water comes from. He will wonder and maybe ask his parents about the existence and emergence of a cup of water. Since the child is only a little, the parents will definitely mention rain and water bodies like lakes and oceans. It will only be a matter of some more time and years for the child to learn that ocean water is not drinkable and that rain comes down after the process of evaporation, which will lead to a further set of questions regarding the indefinite quantity of water and reasons for preserving water. Whereas the fact is that only 3% of water is drinkable. This process will go on and on till the child learns about molecules and atoms and other mysteries of the nature of water.

This process of awareness does not make a permanent stay on the human brain, as, with time and experience, a human connects dots of new things to older things and at the same time unlearns several anachronistic thoughts and information. This happens throughout the lifetime of a human and the more and more we know, the more we seek.

Another example will be for those who seek salvation. Since the question of human existence does not have a definite answer, a surfeit amount of people begin to meditate under the guidance and in the hope of finding answers to one’s existence. But we can’t be very sure of whether one achieves what they seek to.

At the end of the day, we are human and we will never be content with incomplete information. Since we have a brain to think, we will come up with more and more complex questions but so is the beauty of our brain. With more awareness, with more answers, come bigger and more complex questions.

"For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow."