the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Every action has both negative & positive effect to it. Even though it’s positive action, every action has its own limits, when done more often or repeatedly has its own negative consequences. And teaching is a part which is often imparted by various methods. The way to teach someone varies from person to person as per their way of perceiving things, their age, situation etc., The prompt says that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. This may hold partially correct. The best way to teach is by pointing out both negative and positive actions equally as per the stage of their development, and should involve a balancing act. I would like to support the above said with two reasons.

For instance, consider a child who had just started to play football, who is playing very well on his own but isn’t playing as a team player. If in initial stages of his game development, if we can actually nurture him by showing him the negative action of his, not involving in a team play, would help him develop that skill of being a team player, rather just praising for his individual game play would hinder his career going forward. So, I would like to say that the way to teach by praising positive action or by pointing negative ones depends on the situation or development stage.

And also, the weightage of positive and negative actions also plays a major role. The holistic picture of the actions includes both negative and positive actions, if the positives weigh more than the negatives, then the negatives can be ignored. Consider a newly joined employee(adult) in an organisation, during his training, pointing few small negative actions can affect his confidence. Considering his major positive actions, few negative actions can be ignored. Considering he’s an adult, he can learn from the negative actions by himself, he can actually become more perfect in his jobs with the encouragement or praise given to him.

And to add further, the situation also plays a vital role. For instance, consider a situation where a player is behind the score & the match is still happening. In the middle of the process, it’s better to ignore few negative actions, and rather praise the positives to instil confidence in the player to perform better. Always the balance of the positives and negatives should be maintained for as to achieve a better outcome.

In conclusion I would like to add that the way of teaching by praising positive or ignore negative actions should be based on case-to-case scenario of a person. Depending on various factors like age, situation etc. teaching can be imparted. The game of balancing the positive and negative actions plays a vital role in the teaching outcome.