Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Educators follow different methods to teach students. Teaching is a broad subject; every educator has their own way of teaching students. The prompt suggests that the educators should teach facts with the help of ideas, trends & concepts. Articulating a fact can be interesting if supported by ideas & concepts. Without ideas & concepts, a fact can look dull & difficult to remember for students. Anything is easy to understand only if supported by logical backing. In my opinion I strongly agree with this recommendation that educators should back up the facts with ideas & concepts for two reasons.

Firstly, stating facts without any logical explanation would limit the analytical & cognitive thinking of students. During the early stages of a child, the ability to develop cognitive skills is a vital component of education. It not only helps a child to further in education but also helps a student to deal with the situations in life. Consider a concept like newton’s third law, ‘for every action there’s equal and opposite reaction’, If this is stated, a student might not understand the real usage of this law, if supported with an idea of a rocket it would make students think and understand the concept clearly. And considering the subjects like space & rockets are always interesting to children, it makes it easy for them to understand the fact in a right sense. The example case of rocket would help students to analyse the mechanism & will let them extend the application of the same to various fields.

Secondly, stating facts without any backing would not create interest in students which would confine them to remembering the facts without understanding the importance of the stated facts and its applications. For instance, consider the fact that the ‘leaves are green’. If a student can question the fact that why the leaves are green, why not red or white in general? So, if this can be backed by the idea of a pigment called chlorophyl and photosynthesis, one can easily related to the fact that the leaves are green. Any fact can be actually questioned by a student, and can be supported only by supporting it with ideas or concepts. In the same way consider an example that the rain drops are spherical. Why the drops take the form of a sphere is because of the minimum surface area can be only achieved by sphere. Any fact backed up by idea or concept makes it easy to understand & also interesting.

Of course, some may argue that facts should be stated without idea & trends, but precisely shouldn’t teaching inculcate the process of analytical ability and a way to question the facts? Going forward, the way a student thinks & arrives at a conclusion by analysing facts is crucial & detrimental in life. So, educators should always support their teaching of facts with supported facts, ideas & concepts.