The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

A good teacher can pave a path towards a bright future for their students. Their guidance is extremely valuable, and can equip students with the necessary skills to face the challenges of life. The prompt suggests that the best way to teach is to promote positive actions and ignore the negative ones. I strongly disagree with this suggestion. I have two reasons to support my beliefs.

Firstly, if teachers do not point out the negative actions of the students, they might develop some narcissistic tendencies. They might start to believe that they are the best at what they do and would start to think that the wrong actions they take might be the right ones. For example, if a teacher doesn't stop a student who bullies other students because they have a better score than them, then the bully might start to develop a God Complex and think that they are at the top of the world. They could become very sensitive toward criticism and might react aggressively when confronted or criticized. If their teacher does not criticize them for their wrong actions, they will never improve upon them. No one is perfect, and constructive criticism from a mentor or a teacher can actually help students look at their flaws and improve upon them.

Another reason, which is somewhat an extension of the previous reason, is that the students can not deal with failure properly. Let us take the same example of the studious bully. If the teacher does not highlight their mistakes, they will not be forced to introspect and look for answers within. A person's ability to look inside and figure out how they can improve themselves can help them significantly in the long run and improve their quality of life. When a person fails and in order to get back up on their feet, they need this ability. And this unique ability can only be inculcated into someone when their mentor or teacher continuously pushes them to improve. This is possible when their teacher highlights their positive qualities and helps them see their flaws. When the student knows what they have been doing wrong they automatically enter a state of mind where they work towards eliminating that flaw.

Now some people might argue that teachers who over-criticize a student tend to give their pupils anxiety, and over-criticism is counterproductive. But those people actually forget that that is an extreme case and extreme cases are rare; we can not generalize an extreme case. Therefore I believe that a teacher should focus on a student's positive and negative actions, as it will encourage them to improve continuously and train them for a better future.