A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-

processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty- year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evoluate the prediction.

In this article, the author has come to the conclusion that residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future because of the increasing levels of salicylates in the residents' food. They come to this conclusion after a twenty year long study to see the effects of increasing salicylates in foods on headache symptoms of Mentia. However, before we can agree with the conclusion of this study there are three questions the author must answer.

One, are all headache symptoms the same? In this study the author assumes that all headaches are caused by the same thing, and all headaches can be cured by salicylates. But that is simply not possible, some headaches could be caused by some other illness that can not be cured by just salicylates. If any of this is valid then the author's conclusion is seriously weakened.

Another question that must be answered is that, are salicylates the only cause of fewer headaches? As mentioned in the prompt it is a twenty-year long study. It could be the case that in that time medical facilities have improved and people have started to live a healthier lifestyle. The author completely disregards the ever-changing medical field. If they have actually overlooked the medical advancements of the Medical sector then their argument holds no water.

The author also blindly trusts the research done by food-processing companies. Then a natural question arises, can company research be trusted? Big corporations have had a history of falsifying research. They may hide the amount of salicylates they might be adding to their food products or many other critical details. This could very well be a strategy to defend their use of salicylates as a food preservative. If we could get a closer look at the research they carried out, and what were the factors that affected their results, we might be able to draw some valid and informed conclusions.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on many unstated assumptions and multiple unanswered questions. If the author is able to provide the answer to these questions, then only can one arrive at the same conclusion that the author wants the reader to arrive at, and one can surely say that residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future because of the increasing levels of salicylates in the residents' food.