The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement is acceptable in most of the cases but in some situations it is reasonable to consider and quote the negative actions as well. It is good to take positive but, there is the other side of the "coin" and one should also know about the negative side. Life challenges you to face various types of people and situations. All these situations don't demand the positive side of an individual, sometimes one must be able to show and use the negative side and this is possible only if the person has the knowledge about the negative actions in respective situations.

While teaching a learner, praising the positive actions of the learner boosts up the self-confidence and courage for the learner. But it is good upto some extent, it should not turn out to be the overconfidence and arrogance. For example, a coach teaches how to play cricket to the student, In the teaching process praising the good shots and good performances by the student helps the student to gain confidence but, there should not be praised for minor positive actions like just following the normal things that are taught by the coach and by ignoring negative actions tends to the overconfidence of the player.

Regarding negative actions: ignoring minor negative actions is acceptable. If a teacher consider every minor negative action without praising the positive actions then it puts down the confidence of the learner and it creates negative impression about the teacher for the learner and the learner loses the interest in learning. But, neglecting major negative actions is a big mistake because, the learner assumes those negative actions as correct actions, as the negative actions by learner are not pointed out and ignored by the teacher. By ignoring negative actions, the learners may not be able to differentiate and evaluate the positive and negative actions which tends as a major flaw of a learner. Let us consider an example of a teacher and student in the school, If a student commits any big mistake like misbehaving and harassing others, then the teacher should make understand the wrong-doing by the student. In this situation, if the teacher ignores this negative action then the student won't be able to judge or think the action as negative and commits the same mistake again, and it becomes a negative quality of the student.

So, the statement given is not always correct. The better teaching process is that the teacher should consider the major negative actions of the learner and the learner should know about the mistakes and not to commit them again. To make the learner understand the negative actions is the duty of the teacher. "Too much of anything is bad", praising every positive action without considering the negative actions is definitely incorrect. It completely depends on the situation of what to consider and how to react.