The best way to teach - whether as an educator, employer, or a parent - is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement, and explain the reasoning for the position taken. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Perhaps, one of the most important roles we play in our lives are the ones that involve us acting as a mentor or a teacher to someone else. This role takes up many forms throughout our lives, with our parents being our first teachers, then our educators and eventually our employers in later years of life. The role of a teacher in life, be it in any form, impacts our lives in great ways and it shapes how we grow in life and how we become better versions of ourselves. Irrespective of how important being praised by our teachers is to our self-esteem and to our confidence, being criticized by them is also a huge part of self growth.

Without having our flaws pointed out, we can never know what their might be that we are doing wrong and that we must focus on to change. Every human learns from his or her mistakes, and an important job of a teacher is to make us realize our own mistakes. This cannot come without them pointing out our negative actions to us. If our negative actions are ignored and not criticized, it will never be rectified and we shall continue doing it in later stages of life. One of the most important ways of learning in life is through constructive criticism and feedback that is honest. Simply ignoring one’s negative actions would only hamper the growth of a person as an individual where they must have the opportunities to rectify and correct their negative actions and learn not to repeat it again.

Constant praise and appreciation of one’s deeds without any constructive criticism of one’s misdeeds can make them feel overconfident. Sometimes, it might lead a person to also be narcissistic because they start believing that they do not commit misdeeds since they have not been pointed out to them. A person might also start taking their negative actions lightly, assuming that it was not profound enough to be called out. A negative act, only when criticized brings about repentance and a change in one’s behaviour.

Obviously, one must not have to be taught only by acknowledgement of negative actions and their scrutiny. Appreciating and praising the positive actions much more than the negative ones is very important to maintain the morale of a person and it also plays a much bigger role in the development of one’s confidence and personality.

Thus, as much as appreciation of positive actions is required in maintaining one’s self confidence and morale, criticism of negative actions is also imperative in the growth of a person.